Utah Department of Public Safety

Highway Patrol - State Capital

The State Capital is comprised of 18 Troopers, Four (4) Sergeants, Four (4) full time civilians, and eight (8) part-time civilian staff.  The main area of responsibility is the Utah State Capital Complex.  In addition, they are responsible for security for the Calvin Rampton Building that serves as the Department of Public Safety and Department of Transportation Headquarters.  They also watch over several other state occupied/owned buildings.

The Troopers in this section also augment field troopers in Salt Lake and Davis County when needed and are capable of handling field assignments.  In addition to typical security operations, the section personnel have enjoyed great success arresting burglars and vandals at these institutions, as well as representing the Utah Department of Public Safety during the legislative sessions on Capital Hill.

[Last Update - Wednesday, 10-Apr-2013 11:21:57 MDT]