Utah Department of Public Safety

Highway Safety - Car Seats

 

 

 

Quick Links

For detailed information on car seats, booster seats and Utah's laws visit clickitutah.org and boosttil8.com

                   

 

For Child Passenger Safety Training click here.

 

CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY

Utah's Child Restraint Law states: The operator of a motor vehicle operated on a highway shall provide for the protection of a person younger than eight years of age by using a child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device.

Children younger than eight are not required to be in a booster seat if they are at least 57 inches tall. At that point, they should use the lap and shoulder belt without a booster.

The penalty for breaking this law is $45. Failure to properly secure children is a primary offense, so a driver may be pulled over if anyone in the vehicle under age 19 is not properly restrained. This does not mean simply restrained in a seat belt. Children ages seven and younger must be restrained in an age-appropriate child safety seat or booster seat.

For more information on car seat safety, visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's page on Child Safety.

For a comprehensive guide for parents, click here for NHTSA's Parents Guide to Playing It Safe with Kids and Cars.

 

4 Easy Steps to Protect America's Children
Rear Facing Seats REAR-FACING SEATS in the back seat from birth to at least 1 year old and at least 20 pounds.
Foward-Facing Toddler Seats FORWARD-FACING TODDLER SEATS in the back seat from age 1 and 20 pounds to about age 4 and 40 pounds.
Booster Seats BOOSTER SEATS in the back seat from about age 4 to at least age 8, unless 4'9" tall.
Safety Seats SAFETY BELTS at age 8 and older or taller than 4'9". All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat.

Looking for a child safety seat inspection station?
Click here

For more information, please contact

Kristy Rigby
Occupant Protection Program Manager
Utah Highway Safety Office
801-366-6040

krigby@utah.gov

[Last Update - Tuesday, 24-Jun-2014 08:05:59 MDT]