Utah Department of Public Safety

POST - Radar Instructor Course

 

Description:

This course is a TWO DAY COURSE for officers who wish to become certified as Radar Instructors. This course offers instruction to provide training to officers on speed laws, non-radar speed enforcement, stationary and moving Radar, and Lidar.  Candidates should be experienced Radar operators and must have a basic working knowledge of math, including the ability to perform trigonometric functions.

 

Day one - Receive instruction on how to teach Radar/Lidar classes.

Day two - All student instructors will teach and be evaluated by peers and instructors.  Informative Radar/Lidar discussion with other agencies. 

Day three – All students will be required to help teach a scheduled Basic Radar/Lidar 12 hour course or 4 hour refresher course.

Pre-Requisites – Radar Certification within six (6) months of the Radar Instructor Class, POST instructor development
Restrictions – must be a law enforcement officer

Class limited to 20 students.

  • To apply for the course, candidates should have Agency Administrator or Training Coordinator register them for the training through the POST Portal at www.post.utah.gov

    If you don't have an POST Portal Account- please send an email with your full name and agency to: support@utahpost.org

Student Notes:

Need to bring a trigonometric function calculator.

Course Dates Location TIme Status
October 22-23, 2013 Training will be hosted by the Weber State Police Academy located at 775 S University Park Blvd. Clearfield, UT 84015 0800 Completed
October 6-7, 2014 (Please note date change) Hosted by the Ogden Police Department located at 2186 Lincoln Ave. Ogden, Utah. 0800 Completed

<<<Back To Course Listing

Last updated: October 24, 2012 3:29 PM

[Last Update - Wednesday, 18-Feb-2015 15:37:05 MST]